Comfort Eating

Evening, Just a short blog post today, talking about one of my favoruite comfort dishes, thats super easy to make.

Anyone reading this with a chronic illness, will get that it can be so hard to cook a proper meal. The majority of my meals take under 2 minutes to make or it’s something I can shove in the oven and wait for it to be ready. I’m like a wannabe chef, I love food, I love to eat even more – but drop me out when it comes to slaving over a hot stove. Not by choice mind, once in a blue moon i’ll cook something from scratch that requires me to stand (or sit) at the hob. Today was not one of those days, but I fancied something homely.

This is where one of my favourites my mum used to make when I lived at home, Cheesey Tuna Pasta bake, the ultimate comfort food, in my opinion. It helps that it’s probably one of the easiest things to make. While the Pasta was simmering I did my washing up – love a good multitask. Then all i did was put in chopped toms, tuna into a dish and topped with cheese – popped into oven for 45 mins..

After it had been in the oven for 10 minutes, I remembered I wanted to add peppers and some chilli powder so quickly did that before adding more cheese and putting back in oven.

Today has been full of ‘oops i forgot’ becuase I then left it in the oven for 15 minutes too long – owell it was still perfect with a nice layer of cripsy cheese on top.

I always cook too much on purpose so i can eat what i’ve cooked up for the next few days, It’s hard to get the proper nutrients and enough ‘proper food’ when trying to manage a chronic illness, so it works for me to cook up a big batch.

For comparison sakes, that was my dinner and then I had a bowl of cereal for tea.

 

 

Leave a Reply

