Finding the Magic in Myalgic Encephalomyelitis

Having suffered with Myalgic Encephalomyelitis for all of my teenage years and still suffering half way through my twenties, with seemingly no end in sight I am embarking on a mission of sorts.

This mission, is to discover all the things ‘magical’ in my life.

As many people with any Chronic Illness will tell you, it is very easy to get caught up and focus only on all the bad things, especially when it’s gone on for so long. It doesn’t mean we don’t acknowledge the good things going on in our lives, it’s more that the good things take a backseat due to being overshadowed by the pain or because we haven’t showered in a week (or longer!), maybe we had a breakdown when we burnt our dinner after forgetting to set a timer.

I do not intend to ignore the bad things, they are very real and need to be talked about – if only for my own insanity – however I do not plan on dwelling on them. Instead for each ‘bad thing’ that happens in my day, I intend to also find one good thing. I will celebrate the small achievements I make throughout the day and give myself big fat gold stars and a pat on the back.

It’s not all sunshine and rainbows, I’ve had my notifications turned off all day, and ignored all messages – purely out of self-care, it is exhausting having conversations sometimes and I need a time out every now and then. However, I walked my dogs, I cooked eggs and beans for breakfast and I had a shower, even though I put comfies on as soon as i got out, I am feeling happy and content – if not utterly exhausted.

1Love, Chloe.

Myalgic Encephalomyelitis – Pain of the muscles and Inflammation of the brain and spinal cord Aka Chronic Fatigue Syndrome

Comfies = pyjamas/loungewear

Leave a Reply

